mrs_sweetpeach: (Default)
Click here )
mrs_sweetpeach: (Default)
The Ruins of Detroit Book

Some gorgeous haunting images. Click image to see more.



(Note: this blurb stolen verbatim from auntie_lovie in the LJ community urban_decay)

Books

Sep. 11th, 2009 12:34 pm
mrs_sweetpeach: (Default)
What with not having time to read the mail, you'd think I'd know better than to be a member of the QPB (Quality Paperback Book club). No, I'm not that smart. Fortunately for me, I rarely order books and usually don't do more than read the descriptions. Plus I usually check the books I want to read against the holdings of our Public Library so that I don't buy what I not only can read for free, but would have to figure out how to store if I had made a purchase.

Books that caught my eye in the current mailer were the excellently titled "My Word is My Bond," by Sir Roger Moore (I don't have a burning desire to read it, but I do love the title), and "Animals Make Us Human" by Temple Grandin & Catherine Johnson. I've known of Temple Grandin for a long time, but I have yet to read one of her books. Someday, I hope.

In the true crime category, I found "Who Killed Katie Autry?" concerning the May 2003 murder in Bowling Green, Kentucky. The description refers to it as "a richly reported crime story in the tradition of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" and since I loved Midnight and crime stories in general, this one's being added to my list of books I want to read.

And I just now noticed the blurb for "The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher" by Kate Summerscale ("the true story of the murder that shocked 1860s England... that reads like a Victorian thriller").

I also saved blurbs for Absinthe & Flamethrowers by William Gurstelle. ("This combination of science, history, and DIY projects explains why taking risks and living dangerously can be good for you") and Voluntary Madness by Norah Vincent ("My year lost and found in the Loony Bin"). I'm not sure I want to read this one, but I did end up curious about her previous book, Self-Made Man, which describes the 18 months she spent living as a man (and which resulted in such severe depression she hospitalized herself).

Lastly there's Scratch Beginnings by Alan Adam Shepard, which I saved less for the blurb ("a college grad starts over from scratch in order to prove that the American Dream isn't dead in this inspiring memoir") than because I want to read the subtitle and I can't make it out in the picture. Only now that I'm staring at it again, I think it reads "Me, $25, and the search for the American Dream." Maybe if the library has a copy and I've cleared the higher priority items on my to-be-read list...

Profile

mrs_sweetpeach: (Default)
mrs_sweetpeach

October 2017

S M T W T F S
1 23 4567
8910 11121314
151617 18192021
22232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Oct. 19th, 2017 06:23 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios